Today, I'm gonna give you a summary of my thoughts on album 54, The Deep End!
I thought this album was good, and well produced, as always. The cover was a bit vague, and a tad unrelated to pretty much all of the episodes. But it doesn't come down to the cover, it comes down to the episodes. This season flew by fast. Mostly because of the 4 parter, the 3 parter, and the 2 parter. I felt there should have been less parts....and more regular length episodes. I dunno, but I think this, besides TGRC, has the record for the most parters. 
Now, about the episodes. We have the fast paced Labyrinth, the hilarious Mistaken For Good, the touching To Mend or Repair, the historical Sergeant York, the lighthearted Child's Play, and the oh-so-awesome Something Old, Something New. I didn't mind that Mitch was engaged, him and Connie were over, done with. All I wanted was to hear his voice again. And I got that. Overall, a nice, fun episode bringing back a beloved character. 
The Labyrinth was exciting, taking you on a rollercoaster of adventure and excitement. Dale Jacobs came back, and helped Jason out, with his ever energetic, maybe too energetic, wife Annie. He investigated Mr. Grote, foiled his plans, made sacrifices, and the day was saved! Again. My favorite part of this was all the lovely British accents. The rest of it? Meh.

Sergeant York was a nice, historical quad of episodes. I did find that, with 4 whole parts, it got boring. Fast. By the time you finished the 4th part, you'd forgotten what happened at the beginning. 

Mistaken For Good was a funny episode where we discover more of Jay's good side, which we all know he has. I couldn't help feeling very sad about Mrs. Wilson being tricked. But it all turned out alright in the end. Besides Jay and Vance having a big chore of painting the retirement home, and them being banned, which I thought was bittersweet, at least for Jay. I mean, he can't even visit sweet ole Mrs. Wilson?

To Mend Or Repair was a quiet, touching episode about loss, love, and learning to just be there for someone. It was sweet, and oh so sad. I almost wiped a heartfelt tear from my eye. Almost. Mrs. Kramer was her usual self. I'm really beginning to like her, you know. We had a sad story, and a side story that helped us lighten up.

Child's Play was a lighthearted episode with some fun moments with Kyle and Joy! Joy was my favorite character in this one, because her name is my middle name, and she was a sweet girl. I sure hope they bring back Kyle and Joy in the future! 

6/19/2012 11:29:49 am

Nice review! I agreed with a lot of your thoughts, and yes, Besides GRC, this is the album with the least stories and most parts, as there are 6 stories and 9 parts. But, The Deep End is Album 55, not 54. This is a great website, by the way.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    A bit about me!

    Hey, I'm Joy. I'm an AIO fanatic, an avid reader, and an computer freak!

    Archives

    June 2012

    Categories

    All